• facebook
  • youtube
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the page you are looking for.
Advanced Search

New Articles
All Articles
All Topics
 Parish Missions
 SMAFF Schedule
 Recent Additions
 Scripture ->
 Homilies (189)
 Sunday Readings ->
   Cycle A Archives ->
   Cycle B Archives ->
   Cycle C Archives ->
     Ordinary Time (1)
     Ordinary Time (2)
     Ordinary Time (3)
   The Liturgical Cycle
 Doctrine ->
 Sacraments ->
 Church History ->
 World Religions
 The Spiritual Life ->
 Morality ->
 Catechesis ->
 Dr. Paul Hahn Videos
 UST Videos ->
 From Our Bishops
 Other Parishes ->
 The Family
 En Espanol ->
 About SMAFF
 SMAFF Library
 Meet Our Speakers
Articles RSS Feed

Cycle C Archives



Advent / Christmas

Ordinary Time 1 (2nd Sunday - 7th Sunday)

Lent / Easter

Ordinary Time 2 (Trinity Sunday - 22nd Sunday)

Ordinary Time 3 (23rd Sunday - 34th Sunday)

Following the directives of Vatican II, a  Lectionary, was developed with a three-year three cycle of readings for Sunday and Holy Days to give the faithful a chance to hear as much of the Scriptures as possible. During the weekdays, every Mass has two readings. The first is from the Old Testament or from a letter. During the Easter Season the reading is from the Acts of the Apostles or the book of Revelation. The second reading is from a Gospel. There is a one year cycle of readings for the Gospels, and it is repeated each year. The first reading has a two-year cycle. A different reading is read on alternate years. The first is read on odd numbered years and the second on even numbered. There are special readings for the feasts of our Lord and his mother Mary, for important feasts of the saints, and for special needs and occasions.

YEAR A: The Gospel of Matthew is read.
YEAR B: The Gospel of Mark is read.
YEAR C: The Gospel of Luke is read.

he Gospel of John focuses on the risen life of Christ,  so  it is  read  primarily during  the Lenten  /  Easter   season  and   secondarily during   the  Advent / Christmas season.

Related Topics:
  • Cycle B Archives
  • Cycle A Archives
  • The Liturgical Cycle
  • Advent/Christmas
  • Ordinary Time (1)
  • Lent/Easter
  • Ordinary Time (2)
  • Ordinary Time (3)
  • n

    Any broken links, questions, or comments about this site: please e-mail our webmaster .